Returning to campus? Read our Reopening Plan.

Newmark J-School Wins National Associated Collegiate Press Awards

  • By John Mancini
Keith Paul Medelis

Seven Newmark J-School students have been honored in the first Associated Collegiate Press Fall Clips & Clicks contest, which attracted more than 350 entries from across the country.

J-School students swept the top three prizes for Broadcast News Story:

  • Megan Burney’s “No WiFi + No Service = No School” audio piece, on how the digital divide affects New York City students who live in shelters, was named the winner.
  • Buzz Von Ornsteiner’s “Room at the Inn—For Now” video package, which examined reactions to homeless residents being placed in an Upper West Side hotel, took second place.
  • Ali McPherson’s “Homeless New Yorkers Speak Out” audio report, in which she interviewed shelter residents about being shuffled around during the pandemic, won third place.

Students also took two prizes for Broadcast Feature Story:

  • Ashley Rodriguez’s “Changing the Narrative” audio piece, which explored how Native Americans are reclaiming their history, took first place.
  • Holly DeMuth’s “A Royal Flush” audio report, focusing on the chess revival inspired by The Queen’s Gambit, won fifth place.

In the News Story Writing category, two J-School students were recognized:

  • Mary Steffenhagen’s “Where Any Cuts Go Deep,” a text and photo piece that spotlighted how mental-health counseling for disadvantaged NYC students has been put at risk, took fifth place.
  • Keith Paul Medelis’s “A Kaboom With Two Views,” a multimedia look at the divide on City Island over NYPD firing-range noise, got honorable mention.

The NYCity News Service, launched in 2007, provides student stories about New York City neighborhoods to professional outlets and produces multimedia special reports.

The student-powered News Service, the school’s 219West TV news magazine and its AudioFiles podcast and radio programs have collected scores of honors in local and national journalism competitions run by Editor & Publisher, the Society of Professional Journalists, the Online News Association, the Associated Collegiate Press, and other noted media associations.