Need to come to campus? Please review the procedures for visiting.

Lisa Hagen ’11 Wins a Pulitzer Prize For NPR Series on Radical Gun Rights Activists

  • By Newmark J-School Staff
Lisa Hagen '11
Lisa Hagen ’11

Class of 2011 alum Lisa Hagen, a reporter for public radio station WABE in Atlanta, has won a Pulitzer Prize for an investigative podcast series on the nation’s most radical “no compromise” guns rights proponents. The stories shed light on the deepening schism among American conservatives over gun control measures.

Hagen shares the “Audio Reporting” prize with three other NPR reporters: Chris Haxel, Graham Smith, and Robert Little.

This is the first time a Newmark J-School graduate has been named a Pulitzer Prize winner. Other alumni have worked on teams that produced prize-winning stories. In 2014, Aisha Al-Muslim ’09 was a Pulitzer finalist for a Newsday series on police misconduct.

For a behind-the-scenes conversation on the making of “No Compromise” with Hagen and Haxel, who works for KCUR in Kansas City, MO,  listen here.

And that’s not all…

Amr Alfiky ’18, Vanessa Swales ’19, and Rachel Sherman ’20, who just graduated in December, were on The New York Times’ Pulitzer Prize-winning team for Public Service. NYT’s reporters provided sweeping coverage of COVID-19 that exposed racial and economic inequities.

Lina Masri ’15, a data reporter, was also on the award-winning crew from Reuters. The team won in the Pulitzer category for Explanatory Reporting for an investigative series about an obscure law that shields police who use excessive force.