• Stay Connected:

  • James Stewart to Receive NY Financial Writers Award

    Date & Time:
    From 7:00 PM to 9:00 PM on October 19, 2011

    CUNY Graduate School of Journalism, 3rd floor

    219 W. 40th St.

    New York, NY

    The New York Financial Writers Association will present its 2011 Elliott V. Bell Award to James B. Stewart, New York Times columnist and award-winning financial journalist and author, on Oct. 19 at the CUNY Graduate School of Journalism. The award honors an individual’s lifetime contributions to the field of financial journalism.

    Stewart currently writes the “Common Sense” column for the Business Day section of The New York Times. In 1988, he won the Pulitzer Prize for Explanatory Journalism for his articles in The Wall Street Journal about the 1987 dramatic upheaval in the stock market and insider trading. These writings led to the best-selling “Den of Thieves” that recounted the criminal conduct of Wall Street arbitrager Ivan Boesky and junk bond king Michael Milken.

    He was named page one editor of The Journal in 1988 and stayed with the paper until 1992 when he left to help found SmartMoney. “DisneyWar,” his 2005 book on Michael Eisner’s reign at Disney, won the Gerald Loeb Award for Best Business Book. He is the author of 11 books including “Tangled Webs: How False Statements are Undermining America from Martha Stewart to Bernie Madoff” and “Blind Eye: The Terrifying Story Of A Doctor Who Got Away With Murder,” which won the 2000 Edgar Award in the Best Fact Crime category.

    He also won the George Polk Award in 1987 and Gerald Loeb awards in 1987, 1988, and 2006. Trained as a lawyer, he was previously the executive editor of American Lawyer magazine. He is a regular contributor to The New Yorker. Stewart is a graduate of DePauw University, where he serves on the board; Harvard Law School; and Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism, where he is Bloomberg Professor of Business and Economic Journalism.

    The event, which will include a wine & cheese reception following the award presentation, is open to members of the NYFWA. RSVPs are essential to nyfwa@aol.com. (Your name must be on the list to be admitted to the CUNY building.) Click here for a complete list of previous winners.

    Last updated Tuesday, September 13th, 2011 at 2:32 pm