2018 Alumni Awards Winners Announced

  • By Ellen Lai
Jake Naughton

Three Class of 2017 alumni and two Class of 2010 alumni will be honored at the CUNY J-School’s 11th annual Awards for Excellence on April 11.

Mallory Moench, ’17, whose stories ranging from tenant harassment in New York City to unsafe abortions in New Delhi won her acclaim during her time as a student, will receive the Sidney Hillman Foundation Award for Social Justice Reporting.  Moench covers the Alabama legislature and state politics for The Associated Press.

Will Mathis, ’17, now an intern at Bloomberg, is the winner of the Frederic Wiegold Prize for Business Reporting. He recently finished a data journalism residency program with the Dow Jones News Fund. His investigative pieces were published by the Salt Lake Tribune. 

The Newsweek Magazine Alumni Prize will go to Joy Notoma, ’17, a freelancer in West Africa.  She was selected by her class to be the student speaker at the December 2017 commencement. 

Hannah Rappleye and Lisa Riordan Seville from the Class of 2010 will receive the Stephen B. Shepard Prize for Investigative Reporting.  Seville’s work has appeared on Buzzfeed News, The Daily Beast, and VICE.  Rappleye, a producer for NBC News, recently won an Emmy for reporting on the water crisis in Flint, Mich.