Four Honorees to Receive Newmark J-School’s 2021 Awards for Excellence

  • By Newmark J-School Staff

Dean Sarah Bartlett has announced the names of this year’s Awards for Excellence student and alumni winners, who will be celebrated at a virtual event on Tuesday, May 18 at 12 p.m.

“They are an extremely impressive group, and the school has been fortunate to help them launch their journalism careers” she said.

Allison Dikanovic

The Sidney Hillman Foundation Award for Social Justice Reporting is awarded to Allison Dikanovic, who graduated in December 2020 from what was then called the Social Journalism program (now Engagement Journalism). Allison developed a rent and eviction-focused newsletter for THE CITY as part of her capstone efforts. She is currently helping lead THE CITY’s Civic Newsroom project and newsletter. Sidney Hillman is remembered as one of the greatest labor leaders in U.S. history, the foundation is named in his honor.


Dalvin Brown

The Frederic Wiegold Prize for Business Journalism goes to Dalvin Brown ’20. This prize is given each year to a recent graduate of the business concentration who shows the greatest potential for a career in business reporting. It is given in the name of a former top editor at the Wall Street Journal and Bloomberg. A native of Mississippi, Dalvin earned his undergraduate degree in business journalism from Baruch College. After working at USA Today throughout his time at the school, he is now the innovation reporter at The Washington Post.


Valen Iricibar

The Newsweek Magazine Alumni Prize, which honors a student whose values best reflect those of the school, goes to Valen Iricibar ’21. From the day they arrived in New York from Argentina, they played an active role in school leadership, serving as a member of the Graduate Student Council and acting as a strong advocate for transgender and international students. Valen has stayed for a fourth semester to finish their capstone, which is about how NYC’s budget addresses the city’s trans, gender-nonconforming and non-binary community.


Roxanna Asgarian

The Stephen B. Shepard Prize for Investigative Reporting goes to Roxanna Asgarian ’11 for her compelling in-depth stories about the failures of the child welfare system in Texas, where she is based. A freelancer, Roxanna is currently writing a book on the subject for Farrar, Straus & Giroux. Stephen B. Shepard was the founding dean of the Newmark J-School, and he also served as editor-in-chief of BusinessWeek from 1984 to 2005.