J-School Students Win ACP and CMA Awards

  • By John Mancini

Multimedia work by Newmark J-School students has won national recognition in the latest Associated Collegiate Press and College Media Association awards competitions.

The honors included first prizes in three categories:

  • Mary Steffenhagen ’21 won ACP’s Broadcast News Story of the Year award for Fired for Speaking Out?, an audio piece for WBAI Radio on how current and former Trader Joe’s employees are going public with accounts of retaliation for speaking up for safer pandemic working conditions.
  • Next New York, a NYCity News Service project looking at how post-pandemic life is already taking shape in the city, was named the top Multimedia News/Feature Presentation in the ACP Fall Convention’s Best of Show. Next New York was produced by the Fall 2020 Editing class led by Associate Professor Judith Watson, with reporting and visuals by members of the Classes of 2020-21.
  • Valen Iricibar ‘20 won first place in Broadcast Commentary in ACP’s Spring 2021 Clips & Clicks contest, which combines audio and video entries, for Intergenerational Trans Views, an AudioFiles piece in which people from two generations spoke about what the annual Trans Day of Remembrance means to them.

Here’s a look at all of the J-School work that also was honored:

ACP 2021 Individual Awards

Mary Steffenhagen ’21 won citations in three additional categories:

Angela Palumbo ‘21 won second place in Story of the Year/Podcast, for Knights of Social Change, an Audio Docs piece about the Society of Creative Anachronisms, a living history group that recreates Medieval cultures and events and is grappling with how to proceed equitably in the present.

Olivia Bensimon ’21 took third place in COVID-19 Coverage/Broadcast News or Features, for Connected/Ed, an Audio Doc story on how virtual workshops run by libraries became a lifeline to the arts for older New Yorkers.

Sarah Gabrielli and Maddie Kornfeld, both ’20, took fifth place the In-Depth News Story of the Year category for Delays Deepen Abuse for Kids, their News Service investigation into how Colorado child-protective services have failed children and families.

Arno Pedram, John Philp, Jocelyn Contreras, Joseph Jungermann and Holly DeMuth, all ’20, won fourth place in the Multimedia News Story of the Year category for The Trouble We’ve Seen, their Election Day 2020 coverage for the News Service on problems at the polls, part of ProPublica’s national Electionland project.

Shots From a Pandemic Year, a group photo essay with contributions from students in the Classes of 2020-21 that was edited by Leonardo March ‘20, won an honorable mention in the Photo Slideshow of the Year category.

Zachary Smith ’21 won an honorable mention for Interactive Graphic of the Year for Use This Tool for SNAP at Farmers Markets, a News Service post that allows the nearly two million New Yorkers  in the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program to see where they can use their payments.

CMA 2021 Pinnacle Awards

Mary Steffenhagen ’21 won honorable mentions in two categories: Best General News Story for Where Any Cuts Go Deep and Best Profile for Kweku Brew’s Higher Goal.

Cai Luna Pigliucci ’21 won an honorable mention in the Best Breaking News Story category for The Struggle of Special Ed, a deadline News Service story on how teachers and students had to adapt to pandemic learning.

ACP Fall 2021 Convention Best of Show

The Bronx Is Buffering, a News Service special report produced by the Spring 2021 South Bronx Advanced Reporting class, took fifth place in the for Multimedia News/Feature Presentation category. This examination of what local groups are doing to bridge the digital divide was reported by Sahalie Donaldson, Denny Jacob, Griffin Kelly, Emily Nadal, Harry Parker, Gabriel Poblete and Victor Victorio. Moses Bustos, Natalie Peart, Connor Zaft and Parker were the photographers. Peart, Zaft, Megan Caceres and Radhamely De Leon were the videographers. All are members of the Class of 2021.

On the Waterfront, a News Service special report produced by the Spring 2021 South Bronx Advanced Reporting class, took sixth place for Social Justice Reporting. This project documenting the widespread residential development transforming Hunts Point and Mott Haven was reported by Patrick Elliott, Jason Gonzalez, Griffin Kelly and Harry Parker. Kelly was the web producer. Moses Bustos, Natalie Peart, Connor Zaft and Kelly were the photographers. Peart was the videographer. All are members of the Class of 2021.

Natalie Hernandez ’21 took seventh place for Broadcast News Story for We Want You Back, a News Service video report on New York gearing up for the return of tourists.

ACP’s Spring 2021 Clips & Clicks contest

Natalie Hernandez ’21 won two out of the five awards for Broadcast News Story (a combined video and audio category). Ride All Night, a video package on the return of 24-hour subway service, took third place. We Want You Back, a video report on New York City’s efforts to attract tourists, won fifth place.

Hannah Fullmer ’21 won fourth place for Broadcast Feature Story (a combined category) for From the Outside Looking In, an audio documentary on the tight-knit but welcoming bike-polo community.

Alejandra Pedraza Buenahora ’21 won fourth place in Feature Story Writing for Black and Brown Trans People Have a New Place to Call Home in New York City, a story in YES! magazine that detailed the purchase of a first-of-its-kind apartment building in Queens.

Sarah Gabrielli and Maddie Kornfeld ’20 won honorable mention for News Story Writing for Delays Deepen Abuse for Kids.