CUNY Graduate School of Journalism Foundation

Board of Directors

Cristina Alesci

Correspondent, CNN and CNNMoney

JESSE Angelo

Publisher, New York Post

Sarah Bartlett

ex officio
Dean, CUNY Graduate School of Journalism

Kai Falkenberg

First Deputy Commissioner, NYC Mayor’s Office of Media & Entertainment

Nikole Hannah-Jones

Staff Writer, The New York Times Magazine

Cathryn Harding

Executive Director of Development, CUNY Graduate School of Journalism

Laurie Hays

Executive Vice President Financial Communications and Capital Markets, Edelman

Andrew Heyward

Visiting Scholar, Laboratory for Social Machines, MIT Media Lab

Stacy-Marie Ishmael

Senior Editor, Apple

Maite Junco

Advisor for Communications and External Affairs, NYC Dept. of Education

Craig Newmark

Founder, craigslist, The Craig Newmark Philanthropic Fund and the Craig Newmark Foundation

Geneva Overholser

Senior Fellow, Democracy Fund

Richard Ravitch

Former Lieutenant Governor of New York

Howard Rubenstein

Vice Chair
President, Rubenstein

Stephen B. Shepard
Stephen B. Shepard

Interim Chair
Founding Dean Emeritus, CUNY Graduate School of Journalism

Richard Siklos

Vice President, Corporate Communications, Netflix

Judith Watson

Associate Professor, CUNY Graduate School of Journalism

José Zamora

Senior Vice President, Strategic Communications – News, Univision Network

Major Donors


Carnegie Foundation

Charles H. Revson Foundation

Craig Newmark Philanthropic Fund

Donald Graham

Esteé Lauder Companies


Ford Foundation

Forest City Ratner Companies

John S. and James L. Knight Foundation

Katherine Moore Family Foundation

Laura and John Arnold Foundation

Leonard and Judy Lauder

MacAndrews & Forbes Inc.

Maureen White and Steven Rattner

News Corp

NYC Mayor’s Office of Media and Entertainment

Pfizer, Inc.

Ravitch Family Foundation

Rockefeller Foundation

Samuel I. Newhouse Foundation

Scripps-Howard Foundation

The New York Times Company

The Tow Foundation



William P. Lauder